What’s a Sick Day

sick-day
As a single mother of two young boys and a Sailor in the U.S.  Navy, I have a lot of different experiences in a day.

MY FAVORITE THING is when a mother has so much to do that she can’t have a sick day. I literally left work for lunch yesterday because my stomach was hurting and I couldn’t leave the bathroom the entire time I was home. I called my boss to tell him that I was not coming back and within 5 minutes the elementary school called to tell me to grab my son.

So here I am, in a shitty situation (literally) but I have to suck it up because its MOMMY TO THE RESCUE! [insert superwoman flying here]

I go to the school to pick up the oldest child, Ky,  and he is knocked out in the nurse‘s office and I immediately knew he was sick. So I ask the nurse to take his temperature (because she hadn’t yet) and the temperature was 101. Go figure. Baby is sick. So we go home and I am now the nurse.

Now do not get me wrong, I LOVE BEING A MOM. One of my greatest accomplishments by far. But sometimes a break would be nice. A full day to be able to lounge around and run to the bathroom uninterrupted to take care of some personal things would be nice.

But I guess I’ll wait until the little one is 18 and graduates. So 18 years to go.

[grabs glass of wine] Here’s to making beautiful memories until then!

2 thoughts on “What’s a Sick Day

  1. Hey, thanks for reading. Glad you enjoyed my first post. To follow, my understanding is that you make an account and then just follow the page. You will then get emails whenever a new post is made. Thanks for your interest

    Like

Leave a Reply

