Trust the Process

I think one of the most interesting things about parenthood is watching a person transform right in front of your eyes.

This little human who you just felt moving around and kicking you from the inside (assuming you’re a woman), is now looking at you with wide eyes and most likely still kicking you, but from the outside, which is considerably more painful.

A baby at one month is so different from six months or 12. That’s why when people ask why I count in months i explain that it’s because they are so different at 9 months, 12 months and 16 months.

The newborn who just had no control over his bodily movements the other day is now scooting towards the outlets trying to stick his finger in the socket. Fast forward a few months and now he/she is walking/falling all over the place scaring the bajeezus out of you.

What made me start to think about the process is the fact that my oldest son just turned six. SIX! Does that even make sense. I still feel like a child myself and here I am with a six year old. It’s kind of crazy.

But as he was turning six, I was sitting there thinking about all of the things we have been through. All of that doesn’t need to be aired here but it has been a lot. Just the two of us. And now we have Max to add to the mix. I’m starting over but he is a totally different child. It’s a totally different experience. And with both of them, I just had to take it one day at a time and trust the process. Now the process is still a process but we have definitely come a long way.

I couldn’t be more satisfied with who my kids are becoming so far. Don’t get me wrong they have their kinks, as we all do, but I wouldn’t want them to be any thing other than themselves. It’s amazing to be able to see the process first hand and I know I am not the only one.

No wine, just reminiscing.

Leave a Reply

